1/1/00 ILLINOIS

OPTIONAL STATE SUPPLEMENTATION

STATUTORY BASIS Illinois Revised Statutes, Chapter 305; ILCS, Section 5/3-1 et seq.
FOR PAYMENT

EFFECTIVE DATE March 1, 1974.

ADMINISTRATION? Department of Human Services.

PASSALONG In compliance by the method of maintaining all payment levels.
SCOPE OF Optional State supplement provided for all aged, blind or disabled
COVERAGE SSI recipients whose income-maintenance needs based on State

standards exceed their monthly SSI benefit plus other income. If
the individual has been denied SSI due to level of income,
eligibility for an optional State supplemental payment may exist if
there is a deficit between all other income and the
income-maintenance need based on State standards. Blind and
disabled children are eligible for optional supplementation.

RECOVERIES, Estate claims are filed against real and personal property for all:
LIENS, AND 1) income maintenance paid out at any time after 1963, and
ASSIGNMENTS 2) medical assistance paid out prior to October 1, 1993 and

after January 1, 1966 for a person age 65 or older, and
3) medical assistance paid out after October 1, 1993 for a
person age 55 or older.

RELATIVE Spouse for spouse; parent for child under age 18, except that a

RESPONSIBILITY parent is not responsible for a child of any age who has married,
regardless of current martial status, and is not living with the
parent.

1 Mandatory minimum supplementation is administered by the same agency as optional supplementation.
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ILLINOIS 1/1/00

INCOME All recipients: First $25 per month of any income, except income
DISREGARDS received from a spouse or other person.

Aged and disabled: $20 plus one-half of next $60 per month of
earned income.

Blind: $85 plus one-half of remainder of earned income per
month.

Blind and disabled: Certain work expenses deducted from
earnings. Income and resources needed for 12 months to fulfill a
plan for achieving self-support can be exempted.

RESOURCE No disregards in addition to the Federal income disregards.
LIMITATIONS

PLACE OF County Department of Human Services, except in Cook County
APPLICATION where application is made at district offices of the Department of
Human Services.

FUNDING Assistance: State funds.
Administration: State funds.

INTERIM State participates.
ASSISTANCE
PAYMENT LEVELS Optional supplement amount is equal to the difference between

monthly SSI benefit plus other income and the income
maintenance needs based on State standards. The income
maintenance needs of each case are determined individually
regardless of living arrangement. Utility allowance varies by
geographical area.
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1/1/00 ILLINOIS
STATE ASSISTANCE FOR SPECIAL NEEDS
State does not provides assistance for special needs.
MEDICAID
ELIGIBILITY:
CRITERIA State guidelines.

DETERMINED BY

MEDICALLY NEEDY
PROGRAM

UNPAID MEDICAL
EXPENSES

State.

Program for the aged, blind, and disabled medically needy,
children and caretakers.

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this
information.
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INDIANA

1/1/00

STATUTORY BASIS
FOR PAYMENT

EFFECTIVE DATE

ADMINISTRATION?

PASSALONG

SCOPE OF
COVERAGE

RECOVERIES,
LIENS, AND
ASSIGNMENTS

RELATIVE
RESPONSIBILITY

INCOME
DISREGARDS

RESOURCE
LIMITATIONS

OPTIONAL STATE SUPPLEMENTATION

Indiana Public Law 46, Acts of 1976.

July 1, 1976.

Family and Social Services Administration, Division of Disability,
Aging and Rehabilitative Services.

In compliance by the method of maintaining all payment levels.

Optional State supplement provided to adult Medicaid or SSI
recipients who because of age, blindness, or disability are unable
to reside in their own homes and need care in a residential facility.
Blind and disabled children are not eligible for optional
supplementation.

None.

Spouse for spouse when residing with spouse in the same facility.

Disregarded from sheltered workshop earnings are $16
employment incentive, mandatory earning deductions, and
one-half of the remaining earnings.

An individual may have a reserve of nonexempt real and personal
property (including cash, stocks, bonds, cash surrender value of
life insurance, etc.) of no more than $1,500; a couple may have no
more than $2,250. If spouse resides in the same facility, the
resources of both, subject to the $2,250 limit, are considered in
establishing eligibility. Ownership of personal property essential
for an adequate living arrangement, production of produce for
home consumption, and personal effects shall not affect an
individual's eligibility. Cash surrender value of life insurance is
disregarded if the face value does not exceed $1,400 and the
beneficiary is the funeral director or the persons estate. The
$1,400 limitation is reduced by any amount in an irrevocable
burial trust or irrevocable prepaid funeral arrangement. Real
property offered for sale or rent is exempt.

1 Mandatory minimum supplementation is administered by the same agency as optional supplementation.
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1/1/00 INDIANA

PLACE OF Division of Family and Social Services Administration, county
APPLICATION offices of the Division of Family and Children Services.
FUNDING Assistance: State funds.

Administration: State funds.

INTERIM State participates.
ASSISTANCE
PAYMENT LEVELS?
Combined Federal/State State supplementation
Living arrangements Individual Couple Individual Couple
Licensed Residential
Facility 23 $1,348.79 4$836.79

STATE ASSISTANCE FOR SPECIAL NEEDS

State does not provide assistance for special needs.

MEDICAID

ELIGIBILITY:

CRITERION State guidelines.

DETERMINED BY State.
MEDICALLY NEEDY
PROGRAM No program for the aged, blind, or disabled medically needy.
UNPAID MEDICAL The Social Security Administration does not obtain this
EXPENSES information.

1 Unless otherwise stated, payment levels apply equally to aged, blind, and disabled.

2 Care in a licensed residential facility consists only of room, board, and laundry together with minimal
administrative direction. The facility must be licensed by the Indiana State Department of Health and
approved for participation in the Room and Board Assistance program by the Indiana Family and Social
Services Administration. A residential facility can be publicly or privately owned; for profit or

not-for-profit.
Federal and State agencies consider couples residing in these living arrangements as individuals one

month after leaving an independent living arrangement.
5 Represents maximum amount paid; lesser amounts may be paid depending on cost of facility and income of

recipient. Includes a personal allowance payment of up to $50 per month.
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1/1/00

MICHIGAN

STATUTORY BASIS
FOR PAYMENT

EFFECTIVE DATE

ADMINISTRATION?

PASSALONG

SCOPE OF
COVERAGE

RECOVERIES,
LIENS, AND
ASSIGNMENTS

RELATIVE
RESPONSIBILITY

INCOME
DISREGARDS

RESOURCE
LIMITATIONS

PLACE OF
APPLICATION

FUNDING

INTERIM
ASSISTANCE

OPTIONAL STATE SUPPLEMENTATION

Section 400.10, Act 280 as amended.

January 1, 1974.

Social Security Administration and the Family Independence
Agency.

In compliance by the method of maintaining all payment levels.
Optional State supplement provided to every SSI recipient except
those residing in medical facilities not certified under Medicaid.
Blind and disabled children are eligible for optional

supplementation.

None.

None.

No disregards in addition to the Federal income disregards.

Federal SSI resource limitations apply.

Social Security Administration field offices.

Assistance: State funds.

Administration: State funds.

State participates by providing assistance only to individuals who
have SSI applications pending.

1 The State administers optional supplementation for recipients living independently and living in
household of another; all others are administered by the Social Security Administration.
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MICHIGAN 1/1/00

PAYMENT LEVELS!?

Combined Federal/State State supplementation
Code Living arrangements Individual Couple Individual Couple
Living independently 2 $526.00 $797.00 $14.00 $28.00
Living in household of another 3 350.67 531.33 9.33 18.66
D Domiciliary care 599.00 1,198.00 87.00 429.00
E Personal care 669.50 1,339.00 157.50 570.00
F Home for the aged 691.30 1,382.60 179.30 613.60
G Living independently with
essential person 3 783.00 1,047.00 14.00 21.00
H Living in household of another
with essential person 4 522.33 698.34 9.33 14.00
I Medicaid facility 37.00 74.00 7.00 14.00

STATE ASSISTANCE FOR SPECIAL NEEDS

ADMINISTRATION Family Independence Agency.

SPECIAL NEED
CIRCUMSTANCES:

PERSONAL CARE, For recipients living independently, payment for help required
HOME HELP with personal care and household activities (maximum of $333 per
month).

1 Unless otherwise stated, payment levels apply equally to aged, blind, and disabled.
2 State-administered payments.
3 Payment levels for essential person apply only to cases converted from the State rolls in 1974.

52



1/1/00 MICHIGAN
STATE Services provided for a number of needs arising from specific
EMERGENCY acceptable causes beyond the recipient's resources to control.
RELIEF Acceptable causes include among others:

STATE DISABILITY
ASSISTANCE

ELIGIBILITY:

CRITERION

DETERMINED BY

MEDICALLY NEEDY
PROGRAM

UNPAID MEDICAL
EXPENSES

Fires, floods, and other physical disasters.
Eviction or foreclosure.
Mechanical failure of essential appliances.
Home repairs necessary to protect health.
Utility shutoff.
SSI recipients are eligible if State disability assistance standards

indicate that their needs are greater than their SSI payment plus
other income.

MEDICAID

SSI program guidelines (title XVI).

Social Security Administration.

Program for the aged, blind, and disabled medically needy.

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this
information.
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MINNESOTA

1/1/00

STATUTORY BASIS
FOR PAYMENT

EFFECTIVE DATE

ADMINISTRATION?

PASSALONG

SCOPE OF
COVERAGE

RECOVERIES,
LIENS, AND
ASSIGNMENTS

RELATIVE
RESPONSIBILITY

INCOME
DISREGARDS

RESOURCE
LIMITATIONS

PLACE OF
APPLICATION

FUNDING

OPTIONAL STATE SUPPLEMENTATION

Minnesota Statutes Annotated, Sections 256D.33-256D.54 and
2561.01-2561.06.

April 1, 1974.

County Welfare and Human Services Agencies (State-supervised).
In compliance by the method of maintaining all payment levels.
Optional State supplement provided to SSI recipients and to
persons who, but for excess income, would be receiving SSI. In
addition, those who have maintenance needs based on the
December 1973 State standards which exceed their income from
the Federal SSI and other sources, and who would otherwise have
gualified for benefits under former State assistance programs for
the aged, blind, and disabled. Blind children are eligible for
supplementation; disabled children under age 18 are not eligible
for supplementation.

None.

Spouse for spouse. Parents for blind children under age 18.

No disregards in addition to the Federal income disregards.

Federal SSI resource limitations apply.

County Welfare and Human Services Boards.

Assistance: State funds.
Administration: County funds; except State expenses, which are
State funded.

1 Payments are made under the Minnesota Supplemental Aid Program. Mandatory minimum
supplementation is administered by the same agency as optional supplementation.
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1/1/00

MINNESOTA

INTERIM
ASSISTANCE

PAYMENT LEVELS?

State participates.

Combined Federal/State State supplementation

Living arrangements Individual Couple Individual Couple
Living independently

Entitlement prior to 1/1/94 $593.00 $895.00 $81.00 $126.00

Entitlement 1/1/94 or later 593.00 880.00 81.00 111.00
Living in household of another

Entitlement prior to 1/1/94 451.34 856.67 110.00 344.00

Entitlement 1/1/94 or later 451.34 593.67 110.00 81.00
Nonmedical, group
residential facility 2 1,221.89 3709.89
Medicaid facility 67.00 134.00 37.00 74.00

STATE ASSISTANCE FOR SPECIAL NEEDS

ADMINISTRATION

SPECIAL NEED

CIRCUMSTANCES:

DIETS

GUARDIANSHIP

FEES

REPRESENTATIVE
PAYEE SERVICES

County Welfare and Human Services Boards (State-supervised).

Amounts of assistance to be allowed for items not covered by the
mandatory State standards shall be determined on the basis of
need in each case.

Specified modified diets when prescribed by a physician shall be
allowed at designated rate.

Five percent of gross monthly income (including SSI) up to a
maximum of $100 per month.

Ten percent of gross monthly income up to a maximum of $25 for
services provided by an agency that meets the requirements under
SSI regulations to charge fee for payee services.

1 Unless otherwise stated, payment levels apply equally to aged, blind, and disabled.
2 Couples residing in these living arrangements are treated as individuals one month after leaving an
independent living arrangement.

3 Includes $67.00 a month for clothing and personal needs. Indicates the highest amount that may be paid.
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MINNESOTA

1/1/00

HOUSING, MAJOR
REPAIRS

FURNITURE AND
APPLIANCES

ELIGIBILITY:

CRITERION

DETERMINED BY

MEDICALLY NEEDY
PROGRAM

UNPAID MEDICAL
EXPENSES

56

Nonrecurring payments for catastrophic situations only for
homeowners who live in their homes.

Nonrecurring payment for necessary repairs and replacements.

MEDICAID

State guidelines.

County Welfare and Human Services Agencies (State supervised).

Program for the aged, blind, and disabled medically needy.

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this
information.



OHIO

1/1/00

STATUTORY BASIS
FOR PAYMENT

EFFECTIVE DATE

ADMINISTRATION?

PASSALONG

SCOPE OF
COVERAGE

RECOVERIES,
LIENS, AND
ASSIGNMENTS

RELATIVE
RESPONSIBILITY

INCOME
DISREGARDS

RESOURCE
LIMITATIONS

PLACE OF
APPLICATION

OPTIONAL STATE SUPPLEMENTATION

House Bill 694.

July 15, 1982.

The Department of Aging and the Department of Human Services
(State-administered through local area agencies on aging).

In compliance by the method maintaining all payment levels.

Optional State supplement provided to aged, blind, and disabled
recipients living in the arrangements listed under "Payment
Levels. " Eligibility is also extended to persons who are not SSI
recipients. Blind and disabled children under age 18 are not
eligible for supplementation.

None.

None.

SSI recipients: SSI cost-of-living increases after July 15, 1982 are
disregarded. Earned income disregards apply. Effective
January 1, 1997, the disregard is $200.00 for an individual,
$300.00 for a couple.

Countable resources may not exceed $1,500 for an individual and
$2,250 for a couple. The following resources are excluded:
household goods; personal effects; one automobile may also be
excluded if it meets the following conditions: (1) specially
equipped for a disabled person, (2) used for employment, (3) used
for medical transportation, or (4) has an equity value not
exceeding $4,500 (excess above $4,500 is a countable resource);
one burial plot; irrevocable burial contracts (revocable burial
contracts are not excluded); life insurance policies with a total face
value of $1,500 or less (if more, the cash surrender value is a
countable resource).

Passport agencies.

1 Mandatory minimum supplementation is administered by the Social Security Administration.
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1/1/00 OHIO

FUNDING Assistance: State funds.
Administration: State funds.

INTERIM State participates.
ASSISTANCE

PAYMENT LEVELS?

Combined Federal/State State supplementation
Living arrangements Individual Couple Individual Couple
Adult family/foster home 2 $968.00  $1,828.00 $456.00  $1,059.00
Adult community mental health
housing 768.00 1,428.00 256.00 659.00
Adult community alternative home 968.00 1,828.00 456.00 1,059.00
Adult group home 3 1,068.00 2,028.00 556.00 1,259.00
Adult residential care facility 3 1,068.00 2,028.00 556.00 1,259.00
Adult residential facility 968.00 1,828.00 456.00 1,059.00

STATE ASSISTANCE FOR SPECIAL NEEDS

State does not provide assistance for special needs.

MEDICAID

ELIGIBILITY:

CRITERION State guidelines.

DETERMINED BY State.
MEDICALLY NEEDY No program for the aged, blind, or disabled medically needy.
PROGRAM
UNPAID MEDICAL The Social Security Administration does not obtain this
EXPENSES information.

1 Unless otherwise stated, payment levels apply equally to aged, blind, and disabled.
2 Includes a personal needs allowance of $50 per individual, $100 per couple.
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1/1/00

WISCONSIN

STATUTORY BASIS

FOR PAYMENT

EFFECTIVE DATE

ADMINISTRATION?

PASSALONG

SCOPE OF
COVERAGE

RECOVERIES,
LIENS, AND
ASSIGNMENTS

RELATIVE
RESPONSIBILITY

INCOME
DISREGARDS

RESOURCE
LIMITATIONS

PLACE OF
APPLICATION

FUNDING

INTERIM
ASSISTANCE

OPTIONAL STATE SUPPLEMENTATION

Wisconsin Statutes, 49. 77 and 49.775.

January 1, 1974.

State Department of Heath and Family Services.

In compliance by the method of total expenditures.

Optional State supplement provided to all eligible persons living
in the arrangements listed under "Payment Levels." Residents of
emergency shelters or patients in medical facilities where
Medicaid pays more than 50 percent of the cost of care are not
eligible for supplementation. Blind and disabled children are

eligible for optional supplementation.

None.

None.

No disregards in addition to the Federal income disregards.

Federal SSI resource limitations apply.

Social Security Administration field offices.

Assistance: State funds.

Administration: State funds.

State participates.

1 Mandatory minimum supplementation is administered by the State.
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WISCONSIN 1/1/00

PAYMENT LEVELS 2

Combined Federal/State State supplementation

Code Living arrangements Individual Couple Individual Couple

Living independently 3 $595.78 $901.05 $83.78 $132.05

Living in household of another 425.12 644.72 83.78 132.05

Living independently with an

ineligible spouse 642.43 N/A 130.43 N/A

Household of another with

ineligible spouse 476.39 N/A 135.05 N/A

Private nonmedical Group Home

or natural residential settings 691.77 1,246.41 179.77 477.41

Living independently with an

Essential person (non-spouse) * 852.78 1,158.05 83.78 132.05

Household of another with an

Essential person (non-spouse) 4 595.78 817.39 83.78 132.05

Living independently with an ineligible
spouse who is an Essential person * 899.43 N/A 130.43 N/A

Household of another with an ineligible
spouse who is an Essential person * 647.05 N/A 135.05 N/A

1 Unless otherwise stated, payment levels apply equally to aged, blind, and disabled.

2 A Caretaker supplement is provided for children, 1st child-$250.00; and $150.00 for each additional child.

3 Includes individuals in private medical facilities who receive less than 50 percent of cost of care from
Medicaid.

4 Applies only to cases converted from former State assistance programs.
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1/1/00

WISCONSIN

STATE ASSISTANCE FOR SPECIAL NEEDS

ADMINISTRATION

SPECIAL NEED
CIRCUMSTANCES

ELIGIBILITY:

CRITERION

DETERMINED BY

MEDICALLY NEEDY
PROGRAM

UNPAID MEDICAL
EXPENSES

Department of Health and Family Services, Division of Support
Living.

State administers special need supplementary payments to cover
care in nonmedical facilities and natural residential settings.

Recipients with dependent children are eligible for a higher level
of supplementation.

MEDICAID

SSI program guidelines (title XV1), Wisconsin Statutes Chapter
49.77.

Social Security Administration.

Program for the aged, blind, and disabled medically needy.

The Social Security Administration does not obtain this
information.
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